Candidates set for May elections

With 4 seats for Mayor and 15 Town Council seats up for grabs in the upcoming May election, the deadline passed for candidates to file on Tuesday, March 6 at 7:00 p.m
In Boydton where three seats on Council were open, five candidates have stepped forward. Incumbents Ronny C. Worley and William H. “Bill” Coleman have both qualified to seek re-election. Three candidates have stepped forward in bids to win their first term on Council. Susan Lou Irgens, Kurt T. Irgens and Paul “Ray” Cherry will all stand for election.
Councilman Johnny Kirkland was unopposed in his run for Mayor.
In Chase City, Mayor Eddie Bratton is also running unopposed for another term as Chase City Mayor.
Incumbent Council members Brenda Hatcher and James Bohannon will stand for re-election. Newcomers Billy M. Mull, Jr., and Barry Morgan are also hoping to win their first terms on Council.
In Clarksville, long time Mayor Kevin Allgood will be uncontested in his bid for another term.
Incumbent Council member Glenn Jurczyk will not seek another term however, incumbent members Christopher Clarke and Carolyn Hite have qualified and will run. One newcomer, Garland D. Pittard, will run for the single vacancy left by outgoing member Jurczyk.
LaCrosse Mayor Thomas “Tom” Tanner is uncontested in the upcoming race. Running for Council are William H. Gill, Rebecca Morentz Stevens, G. Bryant Thomas and Jeffrey D. Edmonds.
In South Hill, incumbent Council members are facing no opposition in the upcoming election with Lillie Feggins-Boone running for another term representing Ward 1 and W.M. “Mike” Moody, C. Ben Taylor, Jr. and C. Leroy Sasser returning to their current seats representing Ward II.