Few voters cast ballots

The 2018 Town General Election held few surprises and few voters. With approximately 4,800 citizens eligible to vote in the election, fewer than 7 percent actually turned out to cast their ballots. With incumbent mayors in three towns seeing no challengers, Mayors in Clarksville, Chase City and LaCrosse remain the same.
In Chase City, Eddie Bratton remains Mayor, taking 73 votes. Incumbent Town Council members Brenda Hatcher and James Bohannon were also returned to their seats with votes of 68 and 66 respectively.
Billy Mull, Jr. and Barry Morgan both sought the seat vacated by long time Council Member Winthy Hatcher. Mull took the seat with a vote of 66 to 43 cast for Morgan.
In Clarksville, Mayor Kevin Allgood, unopposed, was returned to his seat. Incumbent Council members Christopher Clarke took 29 votes while Carolyn Hite garnered 23 votes, returning them to their seats for another term.
Garland Pittard was unopposed in his bid for his first term on Council, replacing long time Council member Glenn Jurczyk who did not seek another term.
Boydton has a new Mayor. Running unopposed, long time Council member Johnny Kirkland took 62 votes to take the seat. Also returning to Council are Ronny C. Worley who took 50 votes and William “Billy” Coleman who took 49 votes.
Joining Boydton’s council for his first term is Paul “Ray” Cherry who took the seat with 57 votes to Susan Irgens with 17 votes and Kurt Irgens with 18 votes.
In South Hill, the election featured only members of Council. Incumbents Lillie Feggins-Boone in Ward 1, Mike Moody, Ben Taylor and Leroy Sasser were returned with no opposition. Feggins-Boone received 6 votes, Moody took 35, Taylor took 34 and Sasser took 36.
LaCrosse Mayor Tom Tanner ran unopposed and took 32 votes to win another term.
On Council, incumbent members Bryant Thomas and Jeffrey Edmonds were returned with votes of 28 and21 respectively. Winning their first terms on Council were Rebecca Moretz Stevens with 20 votes and William H. Gill with 28 votes.
The figures listed above do not include write-in votes or provisional ballots and therefore are unofficial at post time.